Green Council

Promoting British Values at The Abbey CE VA Primary School

The Department for Education have reinforced the need “to create and enforce a clear and rigorous expectation on all schools to promote the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs.” We have a statement about each of these British Values on our school website.


Pupils have the opportunity to have their voices heard through our School Council, Green Council and Faith Council and regular pupil questionnaires. The elections of these Councils each year are based solely on pupil votes and children in Year 1-6 can stand for election for these posts. Two representatives are voted for by their class for each Council. Children have to prepare a short speech to the class to explain why they would be a strong representative and what ideas they have. The teachers have a record of prior Council membership, but not all children want to stand for election and this has to be respected. Children are not allowed to stand for the same Council two years in a row.

The Green Council will meet with Miss Dunn, our DT and Garden Coordinator, at least twice a term to discuss issues and ideas to improve the school grounds and garden, promote recycling, sustainability and environmental issues. The Green Council will meet with the Site Manager and the team of parent school gardeners to discuss ideas and potential projects, including ideas for Sustainability Week in November.

Two pupils from years 1 to 6 are democratically elected to the Green Council each year. The Council meets each half term term with the Headteacher to discuss school issues. Council members seek the views of their classmates and these are brought back to council meetings. All children within the school know that they have a voice and that their views are listened to. This helps to develop their sense of community and responsibility.

Council members for 2017-2018 are as follows:

Green Council
Representatives 2017
Year 1Charlotte Cairns
Georgia Waller
Year 2Oliver Bennett-Velasco
Margo Rees
Year 3Eliza DeSilva
Alex Macdonald
Year 4Tamzin Collin
Ben Gardner
Year 5Alexander Elliott
Mackenzie McGowan
Year 6Aimee Benson
Daisy Howes