Abbey School Governing Board 2020-2021

Abbey School Governing Board

 The governing board has three main core functions:


Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school


Holding the Head Teacher to account for the school’s performance, acting as a critical friend


Overseeing the school’s financial performance and making sure money is well spent

Who is on the Governing Board?

 The Abbey School Governing Board is made up of fourteen people, the majority of who must be Foundation Governors:

 2 x Foundation Governors (appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education)

  • Nikki Loan & Caroline Train


5 x Foundation Governors (appointed by the Cathedral)

  • Katie Wright (Chair of Governors), Carol Borras, Chris Pines, Robert Raine & Eleanor Willatts


2 x Parent Governors (elected by parents)

  • Simon Oaten, Miles Brooke-Williams


1 x Local Authority Governor (appointed by the LEA)

  • Myf Hopkins


1 x Foundation Governor ex officio

  • Canon Abi Thompson


1 x Co-opted Governor

  • Gayle Ball


1 x Associate Member

  • Rachel Hyndman


1 x Head Teacher

  • Miss Fenn


1 x Staff Governor

  • Miss Felstead


Governor Business Interests 2017-2018

Governor Code of Conduct 2018-2021

Governors Privacy Notice – Summary

Governors Privacy Notice

Governor Meeting Attendance Sept 2018-July 2019

Governor Allowances 2017-2020

Parent Governor Forum

The Governing Board annually seeks parental views. A parent survey is sent out every January and a Parent Governor Forum is held every March.  All survey results will be available for parents at our annual Parent Governor Forum, which will now going forward combine with the Friends’ Association AGM.